Ubuntu 11.04 Natty (fight for microphone)

Ubuntu 11.04 has been released. Since it is still possible to use Ubuntu classic desktop with 11.04 (I’m not sure if I ever get used to using Unity), I have decided to upgrade. Upgrade itself was smooth (as usually). After reboot, everything seemed OK, except for the fact  there was no sound capture on the (rear) Microphone. Sound preferences Input tab did not show any Connector (selector)  to choose input sink.

My audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP72XE/MCP72P/MCP78U/MCP78S High Definition Audio (rev a1)


It took me several hours to find a solution, which was rather easy.

  • install gamix (Graphical sound mixer for ALSA)
  • Change InputSource from Line (which seems to become default capture sink) to RearMic, change InputSource1 from FrontMic to Line (not needed)
  • save ALSA settings with sudo alsactl store
  • update .profile file to load saved ALSA settings with alsactl restore
  • There is still no connector in the Sound preferences, but microphone works

To find this simple solution, I have tried to reinstall ALSA, which resulted in complete removal of sound card hardware setting from the system. It took several hours to find this script, which installed ALSA correctly back.

11 Responses to Ubuntu 11.04 Natty (fight for microphone)

  1. JustGlowing says:

    I typed alsamixer in my console, I typed F4 then I switched Input Source to Mic. The gnome-alsamixer doesn’t make me able to change input source -_-

    • bubblesway says:

      Yes, I cannot change input in gnome-alsamixer either. That’s why I had to use gamix (Graphical sound mixer for ALSA), which is different application.

    • veio says:

      thanks dude, that was really annoy but such a simple fix
      #

  2. Artem Borisovskiy says:

    Thanks a lot! I just had the same problem and solved it after reading your post.

  3. Frank says:

    Thanks for tip, it works out.
    Not obviously solution, ubuntu could add it on their web.

  4. dj vorn says:

    Fantastic Sir….
    after install gamix then changed “input source” from Line into
    Mic.i was so surpirse it worked

    Thanks a billion sir

  5. ray040123 says:

    thanks, it does work. I can tune my guitar in Ubuntu now.

  6. Ben Ex says:

    Thanks so much!. I want to install Ubuntu to my new machine but have had so many problems with the sound. Now it works and I can talk to my ex with via Skype now.

  7. Edward says:

    Just as an addition… To work properly,
    in my Ubuntu system, I had to put the following in
    System > Preferences > Session programs

    Name: delayed alsactl restore
    Command: sh -c “sleep 5; alsactl restore” &
    Comment: leave blank

    This is because in the initial 3 seconds or so of the startup,
    the sound is being initialized, and then it restores its default config,
    killing this way our restore if we don’t put the “sleep 5″ above.

  8. MuraliKrishna says:

    thanks buddy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

